Potluck Noodle Salad

The recipe for tonight’s post is the second most requested recipe that I bring for potlucks. This holds a close second to the Blueberry Coffee Cake posted yesterday. This recipe originated on the internet and ended in my kitchen. We have had it for a long time and actually never made the original recipe that was posted. My wife said I looked at the ingredients, barked out a few orders for changes and this is what resulted. She says the original came from AllRecipes.com under a different name so this is inspired by that recipe wherever it may be.  Now I was going to call it “The Worlds Best Noodle Salad” but twelve people already beat me to that name. Then I thought about keeping it local and calling it “SouthEastern Michigan’s Best Noodle Salad” but I really have no proof that it is the best here either. What I do know is that it is very popular at potlucks and the recipe has been requested many times. I’m not a fan of Miracle Whip, but trust me that it works in this recipe. Even people like me who prefer real mayo like this recipe.  So here is what you will need for Potluck Noodle Salad.

 

Ingredients

2 cups of uncooked elbow macaroni

3 hard boiled eggs chopped

1 small/medium onion

3 stalks of celery finely chopped

1 medium red bell pepper seeded and finely chopped

2 tablespoons dill pickle relish (not sweet pickle relish)

2 cups miracle whip

3 tablespoons yellow mustard

1/2 cup of white sugar

2  1/4 teaspoons white vinegar

1/4 teaspoon regular salt (not kosher)

3/4 teaspoon celery seed

Directions

Boil noodles per package directions or to your liking in lightly salted water. Drain in colander but do not rinse, let cool. Mix all other ingredients in a large bowl along with the noodles and mix well. Let sit in refrigerator for a few hours for flavors to blend. Enjoy! 

3 responses to this post.

  1. Can I just say how impressed I am with your passion for cooking! I really look forward to getting the emails alerting me of your new posts – and am definately going to give some of them a try!!! Keep it up Kenny

    Reply

  2. Thanks, cooking is in my top three favorite things to do, well maybe four lol

    Reply

  3. Posted by Terri on December 29, 2010 at 9:46 am

    Kenny made this for us at our Christmas luncheon and it was delicious!! I plan to make it myself soon!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

