Curried Ginger Butternut Squash Soup

Tonight’s post is all about keeping it simple and using what’s available to you without going to the store. I came home from work chilled, feeling under the weather, and thinking about soup. I began rummaging around the kitchen and the refrigerator in search of something easy to turn into soup.  I couldn’t help but noticing a butternut squash sitting on my breakfast nook table. It was the same butternut squash that had been sitting there for quite some time patiently waiting to be utilized. I started thinking about how many people I know who don’t like squash. I also know just as many who like squash but are intimidated by it. Now I know the name squash isn’t that appealing and they are kinda funny looking, however they are very delicious and versatile as well. So what was for dinner? Butternut squash soup and a mixed green salad tossed with a simple vinaigrette.

Cook’s notes: So if you read my homepage I had mentioned that I would share not only successes but failures as well. Although this was by no means a failure I made some modifications along the way which are reflected in the ingredients below. I had only skim milk on hand and used that. I also added 1/2 teaspoon of curry powder. When I tasted the soup at the table I immediately realized skim milk didn’t cut it. The 1/2 teaspoon curry powder was a bit much as well. However, had I had the heavier milk or cream I think it would have been fine. Also at the first taste I thought this soup was screaming for some coconut milk. Maybe next time. If anyone tries this and uses heavier cream or makes any modifications please let me know how it turns out, Ken      

Ingredients for the soup

1 butternut squash approximately two pounds cut into small chunks

4 cups of water

1 tablespoon Better Than Bouillon vegetarian soup base

2 medium onions chopped

4 cloves of garlic minced or chopped

2 cups of milk, half and half or a combination of both (not exceeding two cups)

1 teaspoon of ground ginger

1/4 teaspoon of curry powder

salt and white pepper to taste

Directions for soup

Mix everything except the milk in a pot. Bring to a boil. Cover, lower the heat to a medium simmer. Simmer for ten minutes or until the squash softens. Remove from heat. Stir in the milk. (This is where an immersion blender is priceless). Using an immersion blender, blend until the soup is smooth and creamy. Alternately, remove soup in batches and blend in a blender. Return to pot and rewarm to desired temperature. Enjoy.

Ingredients for the vinaigrette 

1 shallot chopped very fine

2 teaspoons Dijon mustard

3 tablespoons vinegar (red wine, white wine, balsamic, or a flavored one such as tarragon)

1/2 cup of olive oil

salt and pepper to taste.

Directions

Mix everything in a blender until emulsified. Alternately whisk everything in a bowl with a wire whisk until emulsified. Serve over salad of your choice.

2 responses to this post.

  1. All of your vegetarian recipes look amazing! I will certainly be attempting one or two of them this holiday season, thanks 🙂

    Reply

    • Heather, thanks. I was just telling my wife that I’m getting worried that I may post too many vegetarian dishes and lose peoples interest. 30 seconds later I get this message from you lol. Must be a sign, Ken

      Reply

Leave a Reply

