Roasted Marinated Chicken with Pan Sauce

Tonight’s recipe comes from my favorite cooking magazine Fine Cooking. We had visitors coming from out of state and wanted to cook something easy and flavorful. I usually never serve guests a recipe that I haven’t made at least once already, however my wife and I broke the rule on this one.  Fine Cooking has never let us down in the past and this recipe was no exception. Nine times out of ten when a recipe calls for a marinade I double it. I find that this gives a more even flavor to the meat as the different pieces don’t have to compete for the love. I did that with this recipe as well even though it seemed like a powerful marinade. Once this dish was in the oven I thought I made a huge mistake and was ready to order carry out. My kitchen was filled with such strong marinade aromas I thought for sure this was going to be a flop. As the chicken roasted you could actually smell each individual ingredient of the marinade to the point of it becoming overpowering in the air. The good news was that it turned out perfect. I had to reduce the pan drippings a lot longer than if I had used the single marinade but it all worked out in the end. The directions below are for the standard marinade. When I make this again I will no longer double the recipe as I believe it was a waste of ingredients and unnecessary.

adapted from Fine Cooking Magazine

Marinade 

2 teaspoons of lemon zest 

2 tablespoons of fresh squeezed lemon juice

2 teaspoons of fresh chopped rosemary

1/3 cup Dijon mustard

1/3 cup light brown sugar

1/3 cup balsamic vinegar

1/4 cup of extra virgin olive oil

kosher salt

5 cloves of garlic roughly chopped

2 bone in chicken breasts

4 bone in chicken thighs

Directions

 Marinate the chicken for six to twenty-four hours (we did six hours) Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Pour the chicken and the marinade into a baking dish making sure to get as much marinade as possible. Make sure the chicken is skin side up. Baste the chicken at the thirty minute mark with the pan juices and a few more times until the chicken is done (approximately one hour).  Remove the chicken and tent with foil to keep warm. Tilt the pan and remove as much grease as possible from the top of the pan drippings. Scrape as much of the goodness from the roasting pan into a small pot. Place small flame under pot and simmer until desired consistency. Spoon over the chicken and enjoy. We served this with Potatoes Mousseline and roasted brussel sprouts.

Leave a Reply

