Polish Meatballs (My Way)

It’s been a pretty busy week this week with not a lot of cooking going on. We have been kind of winging it this week and making do with what we have. I appreciate a well stocked freezer for times like these. Cooking for two there always seems to be leftovers to be thawed for a quick easy meal. I did however make some Polish meatballs for a potluck that turned out really well. I called these “my way” since I strayed from  the way I was taught “moms way” and it turned out to be a great experiment. I will be giving more variations of these meatballs in the future as well. I will also be  including the way I was originally taught from my mom. I also have the original recipe that she learned from so you can see the progression from one kitchen to the next. My biggest concern with making these was converting them to a crock pot recipe. I had fears of them drying out or my gravy being a flop since I needed a larger quantity than usual to keep them covered. The final result was anything but a flop.

Cooks Notes:  There are probably as many variations of these as there are Polish people who make them. There are also many ways to cook them and a crock pot is not necessary. Like I said these were for a potluck so I needed to cook them in a different way than you may be accustomed to. Also feel free to make your own gravy if this one has too many mushrooms for your liking. A heavy mushroom gravy is what I like and also very traditional. I also used a four or five quart crock pot which was perfect for this recipe. Here is what I did.

UPDATE: Since creating this post I’ve omitted the veal in this recipe and use a 50/50 of ground pork and ground chuck and have found the meatballs to be better. Unanimously friends and family have thought so as well. Enjoy

Meatball Ingredients

1 pound of ground pork

1/2 pound ground beef

1/2 pound ground veal

2 eggs

1 small onion chopped very fine

1 cup of course bread crumbs (I used a Panera Baguette processed)

1/4 cup whole milk

2 tablespoons sour cream

1 1/2 teaspoons kosher salt (cut back if using regular salt)

1/2 teaspoon black pepper

Ingredients for gravy

8 ounces fine chopped fresh mushrooms

1 shallot chopped (optional)

1/2 cup whole milk

1/2 cup water

2 tablespoons flour

1 can condensed cream of mushroom soup

1 15oz can low sodium beef broth

3 shakes Maggi seasoning

Directions

Soak breadcrumbs in milk. Mix together with all other meatball ingredients. Roll into 1 to 1 1/2 inch balls. Place in baking pan and bake at 400 degrees for 20 minutes. Place in crock pot.

Saute shallot and mushrooms until soft making sure the mushrooms release their moisture. Whisk the water, milk, and flour in a separate container. Add to the mushroom shallot mixture. Add the canned ingredients and simmer until thickened. Pour over the meatballs and cook on low for 3 to 4 hours.

8 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Mike Brocki on January 21, 2011 at 3:16 am

    I think these are the exact ones my mom made me as a kid haha

    Reply

  2. Posted by Janet on January 21, 2011 at 8:17 pm

    These are magnificent! Not hard to make and most ingredients are on hand! This will definately go in my recipe book!!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Terri Serwatowski on January 22, 2011 at 6:05 pm

    I would like to see a DUCK BLOOD SOUP (czarnina) recipe please.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Amateur Cook on June 27, 2011 at 2:52 am

    Hi Ken. First of all,Terri, what a request!

    This looks mighty tasty. I like pot luck recipes, and many of mine tend to be a ‘good luck with what you throw in the pot’ style of cooking. Next time I cook soon I’ll be throwing your recipe into a pot. I’m sure it will be a hit!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

