Roasted Root Vegetable Gratin

My wife got a little crazy at the store  this week with the root vegetables. The following recipe didn’t even use half of what she brought home. We were invited to a vegetarian potluck by our friend on Saturday so it all worked out in the end. It actually worked out so well that I’m glad we had leftovers. I’m making this again real soon. This simple recipe would work out well with any root vegetables. I used Kohlrabi, Turnips, Rutabaga, and Parsnips. Yes, I even broke out the kitchen scale and weighed each one to use the exact same amount in this dish. Yes, one of my nicknames is even Steven and yes, it’s probably a mild form of OCD. I will however tell you if we ever split a bottle of wine or a bag of M&M’s you wont get cheated. Well, unless there is an odd number of M&M’s then I will always favor myself ,but that’s a different story. This is how this story went.

Ingredients

2 1/4lbs of root vegetables (see above) sliced the same thickness. I used a mandolin for uniformity. Peel the parsnip and rutabaga, the others can be left as is.  

1 1/4 teaspoons of fresh thyme leaves

6 ounces of Gruyère cheese grated

2 1/2 cups of milk

salt and pepper to taste

Directions: Preheat oven to 400 degrees . Lightly grease or butter a 3 quart glass baking dish. Layer the vegetables overlapping in the dish and sprinkle between layers with salt, pepper, and thyme. Pour the milk over the top and place into the oven for approximately 45 minutes. Check after 30 minutes and turn the top layer or push down into the milk if they begin to look dry. After 15 more minutes remove from the oven. Gently mix in 3/4 of the cheese making sure it is covered by the milk. Then sprinkle the other 1/4 of the cheese over the top and push down with the back of a spoon leaving a small amount exposed on top of the vegetables. Return to the oven for another 45 minutes. If the cheese begins to get too brown lay a sheet of aluminum foil over the top but do not crimp the ends. You need the milk to remain evaporating as well as absorbed into the vegetables. Enjoy!

Cooks Notes: I don’t recommend transporting this dish like I didEven though I had an insulated carrier with a microwave insert the dish separated a bit when we cut into it leaving moisture in the bottom of the pan. It was still delicious it just didn’t look as good as fresh from the oven.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Terri Serwatowski on January 24, 2011 at 8:09 pm

    Heaven in a dish. YUMMY!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Raluca on January 24, 2011 at 8:09 pm

    Thank you again Ken for bringing this for all to enjoy, it was truly delicious. I cannot wait to make it myself as I love root vegetables and this time of year they just seem to be so satisfying and warming to my belly and my heart. Thank you for sharing the recipe.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

