Roasted Carrot and Sweet Potato Soup (Vegetarian or Not)

This thick hearty soup was just the thing to go with the kale salad for dinner tonight. I’m really starting to enjoy roasting the vegetables before using them in soups. It adds an extra dimension of flavor over just simmering them in the broth. The original recipe called for chicken broth but it is equally good keeping it vegetarian.  

Inspired by Eating for England Cooking Blog

Ingredients

2 sweet potatoes peeled and cubed

4 carrots peeled and cubed the same size as the sweet potatoes

olive oil

salt and pepper to taste

2 teaspoons of cumin

scant 1/2 teaspoon of crushed red pepper flakes

1/2 teaspoon of sweet paprika

1/2  13.6 ounce can of coconut milk

20 to 24 ounces of vegetable broth (or chicken) or more depending on the size of the sweet potatoes and carrots

sprouted or roasted pumpkin seeds for garnish

Directions: Preheat the oven to 425 degrees. Combine the sweet potatoes and carrots with the oil and toss with the spices. Place on a cookie sheet and roast for about 40 minutes. Combine the rest of the ingredients except for the pumpkin seeds in a pot and blend with an immersion blender until smooth. Simmer until warmed through. Serve topped with the pumpkin seeds.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by amy e on February 10, 2011 at 10:34 pm

    oh this looks super yummmmmmm! can’t wait to try it

    Reply

  2. Posted by Fibro Malaysia on February 16, 2011 at 10:49 am

    Coconut milk? Are you nuts? This is a heart attack in a bowl!!
    Amount Per Serving
    Calories 552
    Calories from Fat 515
    % Daily Value*
    Total Fat 57.2g88%
    Saturated Fat 50.7g254%

    Reply

    • Harry, live a little. I don’t eat coconut milk all the time. Everything in moderation is cool. I’ve never seen a fat Thai person and they eat it all the time. I have plenty of low fat selections in my vegetarian section and many more to come. As far as me being nuts my buddies say I’m questionable but I’m not on meds so I think I’m good. In case you are concerned my vitals and cholesterol are great and I just finished a 5 mile run, 40 minutes of weights and walked my dog 3 miles. I think I can have a little bit of fat here and there, Ken

      Reply

Leave a Reply

