Farro and Vegetable Soup (Vegetarian)

I have had a busy couple of weeks and have not been able to post any recipes. However, the cooking continued and the kitchen was busy. I also made a mistake and somehow deleted all of my photos during the transfer into my media library. As I said before I wont post recipes without pictures so I will have to remake the recipes. This was a  major setback for me but I’m back in action and ready to roll. The following recipe really hit the spot when I was recovering from a cold. It is also very hearty and healthy. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did. This recipe is adapted from The New York Times Recipes for Health.

 

 

Ingredients

1 1/2 cups Farro (spelt) rinsed

1 ounce dried porcini or mixed wile mushrooms

olive oil

1 onion chopped

1/2 pound carrots chopped

2 celery stalks chopped

1/2 pound cabbage shredded or chopped

2 to 4 garlic cloves 

1 bouquet garni with 1 bay leaf, 2 sprigs of thyme, 2 sprigs of parsley, and a parmesan cheese rind if available tied in a cheesecloth.

2 tablespoons of tomato paste

2 1/2 quarts vegetable stock

salt and pepper to taste

1/4 cup parsley chopped

shredded Gruyère cheese

Directions:Soak the Farro in water for an hour and drain. Place dried mushrooms in a glass measuring cup and top with 2 cups of boiling water for 30 minutes. Strain through cheesecloth reserving the mushrooms and liquid. Chop and set aside. Saute the onion in the olive oil for 5 minutes. Add the carrots, celery, and cabbage and cover. Saute for 5 more minutes. Add the garlic and saute for 1 minute. Add the rest of the ingredients except for the chopped parsley and the shredded Gruyère cheese. Salt and pepper to taste and simmer for 1 hour or until the Farro is soft. Stir in the chopped parsley and serve topped with the cheese.

Leave a Reply

